How to Apply

Eligible Applicants

Eligible Applicants are municipalities, townships, counties, park districts, conservation districts and forest preserve districts within ComEd’s service territory in the following counties: Boone, Bureau, Carroll, Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Ford, Grundy, Henry, Iroquois, Jo Daviess, Kane, Kankakee, Kendall, Lake, LaSalle, Lee, Livingston, Marshall, McHenry, Ogle, Rock Island, Stephenson, Whiteside, Will, Winnebago and Woodford. Please check that your community is located in the service territory before applying.

Starting this year, past grantees are eligible to reapply only if they have fully completed their grant requirements, including but not limited to submitting their final grant report.

Non-profit organizations and all other units of government not listed above (such as schools, school districts, and housing authorities) are not eligible to apply but are strongly encouraged to partner on joint projects with an Eligible Applicant. Please see the Program FAQ’s for more information about eligibility.

Eligible Applicants must be in good standing with ComEd related to provision of utilities.

Timeline – 2018 Grants Cycle

  • January 19: Grants Cycle Opens
  • March 16: Application Deadline
  • Late June–Early July: Notifications Sent to all Applicants

Application Materials

Grantees are responsible for reviewing all of the program materials to ensure their projects and final grant reports meet the terms of the ComEd Green Region program.

2018 Advisory Committee

Completed and eligible applications will be reviewed and prioritized by a geographically-diverse committee composed of county government officials and members of the region’s non-profit land conservation community. Final decisions on recipients and amounts will remain at the discretion of ComEd.

The 2018 Green Region Advisory Committee is comprised of the following volunteers:

  • Megan Andrews, Resource Conservationist, Kendall County Soil & Water Conservation District
  • Kevin Bennett, Resource Conservationist, Bureau County Soil & Water Conservation District
  • Lynn Boerman, Ecosystems Administrator, Illinois Department of Natural Resources
  • Catherine Game, Executive Director, Brushwood Center at Ryerson Woods
  • Kerry Leigh, Executive Director, Natural Land Institute
  • Dan Lobbes, Director of Land Protection, Kane County Program Director, The Conservation Foundation
  • Karen Miller, Executive Planner, Kane County Development Department
  • Darrell Moore, Senior Planner, McHenry County Department of Planning & Development
  • Kathleen O’Connor, Township Supervisor, Libertyville Township
  • Kristen Pratt, Sustainability Manager, Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum
  • Jan Roehll, DuPage County Program Director, The Conservation Foundation
  • Kim Roman, Natural Areas Preservation Specialist, Illinois Nature Preserves Commission
  • Norm Strasma, (former Executive Director), Community Foundation of Kankakee River Valley (retired)
  • Peggy S. Doty, Unit Educator II: Environmental & Energy Stewardship, University of Illinois Extension
  • Julianne Buck, Executive Director, Community Foundation of Grundy County
  • Ed Weskerna, District Manager, McHenry County Soil & Water Conservation District
  • Berni Carmack, Environmental Educator & Facilitator, Project Learning Tree
  • Jennifer Nowicki, Board Member, Jane Addamsland Park Foundation
  • Juanita Armstrong-Ullberg, Natural Resource-Land Manager, Forest Preserve District of Will County
  • Trevor Edmonson, Restoration Specialist – Midewin, Wetlands Initiative
  • Jim Johansson, Director of Land Preservation, Jo Daviess Conservation Foundation
  • Tim Evans, Director of Parks and Recreation, Yorkville Parks and Recreation Department
  • Joe Roth, Will County application reviewer